MV Reviews: Galaxy, tea, vacations and dolls.

Blue: I foresee weirdness in my future…

 

Blue: The video tells a story of a couple in an unhappy relationship. There is no dialogue and the video covers just minutes of the story, but it still tells you a lot. We find some elements we see often in MV’s but used as the complete opposite. The washed out ambient, the brightly lit rooms, the slow motion, normally used to portray romance give us tension and despair, the sharp colors adding to the harshness of the concept.

The introduction sets the ominous tone, and it stays throughout.

And the ending its really ambiguous, but I think it fits nicely with the rest of the video.

Hanee: Amazing photography, the whole video looks beautiful and the story goes slow but it match perfectly with the song. It shows a couple with apparently the perfect life but you get to see that they are not really happy.

I like that the story doesn’t really need to show a lot of action or complicated scenes to create a good story with a twisted end. Funny thing that you actually see the end at the beginning…

 

 

Blue:  ILLUMINATI CONFIRMED.

Ok no, but the triangle imagery is very present in this; my guess is that it just alludes at the three members of the group but we could go deeper, because why not.

The triangle is often the representation of creation, two sides the parents and one the offspring. It is present in many ancient cultures as different symbols, for the Greek it was the doorway, for the Celtics it was evolution. Also, there are a variety of spiritual concepts that come in trinities. All this sounds really mystical and that is kind of the point, the video aims to look esoteric and magical. The cuts are frequent and the shots are narrow, that combined with elements like the scissors and extreme symmetries give off a feeling of tension. Everything looks surreal, dreamy.

I liked it a lot, from the music to the visuals, it was really interesting.

Hanee:  I loooove the production design. Although it is a collage of pretty pictures you get to see the amazing sets and the props that might be simple but look really artistic once they are combined with the rest.

The dance is simple but it goes along with the song. The girls look beautiful and elegant, the whole concept is elegant and mysterious. Really nice video and I hope I can do something as good soon.

 

 

I’m not sure of what I just saw, but I think I liked it.

The video begins with some text messages, from girls I assume, and then a doll falling in the water with a cellphone. The protagonist picks up the doll and dries it and the cellphone. From there dolls keep multiplying and he is just there looking dapper in his suit. From the comments I saw that the song is called “Like a Water Dam” and he is using water as a metaphor of his charm, that would be why the dolls, girls are literally falling for his charm, a lot of charm that he has and lots of girls that he gets too.

Dolls representing girls may seem kind of shallow but they make the video really entertaining.

My favorite scene is the doll waterfall at 2:41. That just looks awesome.

Hanee: Really funny and really creative. The whole video I was thinking about the scene in the mirror and how it was shot and yay! I was right about it!

Back to the video: I like the vintage and creepy vibe it has. I think the dolls represent all the girls he gets with his charm and good looks. I dare to say that it was not a really expensive video, the tricks for the visuals are super creative but also a bit simple and I love that.

He reminds me a bit to Bruno Mars, maybe in his tuxedo style, I’m not really sure.

 

 

Blue:  The girls of Mamamoo arrive to a modest hotel for a vacation, apparently after dissing each other for being short. In the hotel they meet a handsome guy and they make their mission to woo him.

Normally I don’t see this kind of thing in girl groups MV’s, I think I have seen the revenge plot a few times but never the group members and one love interest that boy groups use all the time, but now that the roles are reversed is nice. Also, the video is really fun. Girls in videos look so pretty and pristine always but here the girls make a fool of themselves once in a while.

The video is good, but the color use is a little off, the tones look too sharp and in some scenes it is just too much. The more you know: See that grainy look in the scene at___? That’s because the room was probably too dark when they filmed and they had to increase the ISO in the camera.

I liked it overall, it was fun and lighthearted, and I like Mamamoo.

Hanee: AMAAAAAAAZING. I love everything about it! The song, their voices, locations, outfits, story, choreography…

It show us the girls trying to seduce a guy and failing miserably but always in a funny way, and it shows funny situations that can ACTUALLY happen in real life… not that I know about those things…

Outfits: They all look amazing the whole time, how is that even possible? And if you add their amazing attitudes…

I said it a million times already but I love it!!

 

 

Blue: What.

So, let me recap. There is a planet full of girls, a lot of girls, really childlike teenagers. And there’s a giant claw machine you can use to pick them up. There’s and astronaut that low key stalks them, and Lee Kwang Soo spies on them too, but they are behind him so he gets scared, but then happy, like creepily happy, and they are happy too.

So yeah… what.

Hanee: You are lying if you tell me that the outer space concept did not remind you of EXO… oh! And don’t forget that there are 12 members.

Anyway, the video is funny and a bit weird, I think they had a lot of ideas and they made a super collage of concepts. I don’t like how the colors came out in the video. I hope they have an awesome debut and that they improve with their concepts because I didn’t really get this one…sorry.

I’m really happy to see Lee Kwang Soo!!

 

 

Leave a comment